ROYAL PHILATELIC SOCIETY OF CANADA (RPSC)

95th Annual Meeting of Members

Minutes

Sunday, June 11, 2023 3:00 pm Eastern Time

1. Call to Order and Appointment of the Secretary

The President, Sam Chiu, called the meeting to order and appointed Jane Sodero as Secretary for the meeting. Approximately 71 members were present.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 94th Annual Meeting of Members held Sunday, June 12, 2022 at the Metro Toronto Convention Center

Motion: Gregg Redner moved to approve the 2022 AGM Minutes. Seconded by James Hurd. Motion carried.

3. Acknowledgement of Deceased Members (June 2022 – June 2023)

The President read the names of RPSC members who died in the past year and called for a moment of silence.

4. President's Report

The President's report has been posted on-line. Sam Chiu welcomed the new members of the Board of Directors. He spoke about the outcome of the survey of members. He welcomed members to stay after the formal meeting for questions.

5. Treasurer's Report and Membership Statistics/ Financial Statements for Fiscal Year ending December 31, 2022

John Sharp reported that the statements have been posted on the website. Membership revenue is down but the number of members is stable since more member are taking advantage of the electronic membership. The major outlay for the year was for "Let's Talk Exhibiting" in the both the English and French editions. The treasurer thanked Lee Ann Stewart and Robin Harris for their assistance in maintaining the membership database and connecting with members.

Motion: John Sharp moved the adoption of the Financial Statements for 2022. Seconded by Ingo Nessel. Motion carried.

Motion: John Sharp moved that Bruce Houser be appointed as the accountant for the 2023 fiscal year. Seconded by Garfield Portch. Motion carried.

6. Directors' and Officers' Reports as Requested by the President

The Directors' and Officers' Reports have been posted to the RPSC website.

7. 2022 Geldert Medal Recipient

The Medal was not awarded in 2022.

8. Announcement of New RPSC 50-Year Club Members and Presentation of Honorary Life Memberships

For 2022, 15 new 50-Year-Club Members were recognized by the Society.

The new 50-Year-Club Members are:

- Alan Baker
- Michael Croy
- Doug Fraser
- Graham Houze
- John Keeler
- James Measures
- Cimon Morin, FRPSC
- Paul Patsalides
- David Pugh
- Andre Simard
- Peter Skwarczynski
- Roger Turnell
- Robert Velazquez
- Vance Auctions
- Philatelistische Bibliothek

9. Volunteers Programme and Recipients

The President recognized 14 volunteers from across Canada for their work in their local clubs. The honourees for 2023 are:

- Marty Zelenietz Nova Scotia Stamp Club
- Jeff Parks Nova Scotia Stamp Club
- Hugh Rathbun Nova Scotia Stamp Club
- Cheryl Grantham South Shore Stamp Club
- Micheline Parayre Union des philatélistes de Montréal
- Lise Gosselin Fédération Québécoise de Philatélie
- Stanley Trudel Fédération Québécoise de Philatélie
- Jo-Anna Nadon Villeneuve Les Timbrés de Boisbriand
- Lawrence Pinkney West Toronto Stamp Club
- Janice White West Toronto Stamp Club
- Denzil Fernandes West Toronto Stamp Club
- Don Hedger West Toronto Stamp Club
- Lionel Collier West Toronto Stamp Club
- Mark Oakley Okanagan Mainline Philatelic Association

10. Announcement of Retiring Board Members

Robert Lunn thanked retiring Board members, Sam Chiu, John Hall, David McLaughlin, Robert Pinet and Mike Walsh for their years of service and contributions to the Board.

11. Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of the New Directors

Rob Lunn presented the report of the Nominating Committee. The following Board members were elected or re-elected to The RPSC Board for a two-year term.

- Michèle Cartier (election)
- Mario Chevrette (election)
- Chris McFetridge (election)
- Jesse Robitaille (election)
- John Sharp (re-election)
- Jeff Slemin (election)
- Grégoire Teyssier (re-election)
- Phil Visser (election)

Motion: Rob Lunn moved to approve the report of the Nominating Committee and the people named be appointed as Directors and to approve the slate of Officers as listed below. Seconded by Robert McGuinness. Motion carried.

- President Gregg Redner
- Vice-President Jane Sodero
- Secretary Phil Visser
- Treasurer John Sharp

12. Confirmation and voting of New Executives & Directors by members

See above.

13. Presentation of President's Medal

Sam Chiu presented President's Medals to: George Pepall; Ken Lemke and Lee Ann Stewart.

14. Presentation to Immediate Past President

Gregg Redner recognized Sam Chiu's many philatelic achievements and thanked him for serving as President for the last year. He noted Sam's communication with members and for promoting philately especially among younger collectors.

15. Ratification of all Acts and Proceedings of the Board of Directors and Executive since last Annual Meeting

Motion: BE IT RESOLVED THAT: all by-laws, resolutions, contracts, acts and proceedings of the directors or officers of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) enacted, passed, made, done or taken since the last annual meeting of The RPSC be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed. Moved by Doug Lingard. Seconded by Dave Hurd. Motion carried.

16. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m. on Sunday, June 11, 2023.